Becky Says...

March 17, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Present, Unplanned

I'm giving myself a present---not one that I particularly planned to buy, because it will put a crimp in the budget. But for my work, I need a higher-level computer than I have, and one that's more reliable. So I've spent the last two days computer-shopping for another notebook one. Portability is also important to me.

My friend Wendy was online when I was doing the last of the looking, and she just bought a similar model fairly recently. We chatted on Instant Message while I configured. And we have agreed that at some later date, after I've become accumstomed to the new one, we will get together and play computer duets. Perhaps involving Snood, knowing the two of us.

It amazes me, when I stop to think of it, how much has gone on in my life since I last bought a computer. I am doing some of the same things, but if you had told me then I would have websites and more than one e-mail account, I would have thought you were dreaming. And, of course, I had never heard of online journals. My world has changed a lot, in very good ways, and at what must have been warp speed!

My first encounter with computers, by the way, was back in the dark ages of the machines---before anyone had personal computers. An assignment for a class my Freshman year led a group of us neophytes over to Carolina's computer center, where we were given basic instruction and told to go for it. The computer we were using was some miles away from our location. It has long since been retired, but it was state of the art at the time.

Computers and what they could do fascinated me then, and that fascination holds true today.

Have you bought yourself a present recently? Come tell us about it!

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky