Becky Says...

March 13, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Mail Call

The crop of e-mail today brought me some good wishes and a virtual talisman against fools and infidels from Saundra, so if I had another day filled with annoyances I would be armed. I appreciate that!

But some of the other stuff that showed up in the old inbox was weird. It wasn't spam at all; it was legitimate mail aimed at two different people, but for some reason both items wound up coming to me.

One was a newsletter that looked interesting, but I have no interest in the subject. My response to that one was to unsubscribe, but say why---as in, "Hi, I'm not Ross anybody, my name is Rebecca..." since the thing started out. "Hi, Ross, here's the latest from blahblah company." We'll see if that works; I won't know till next month!

The other one was a business note from a company to a customer, and included comments about an attached document they wanted him (not Ross again; someone else) to sign and return via snail mail. I decided the best way to handle that one was to forward it back to the sender, assuring her I had not opened the attachment, since it was obvious from the body of the e-mail that I wasn't the person she needed to reach.

In that case, I got a quick "thank you" back from her; she said she had used the right name at the wrong address.

Someone had asked me a question late last night that I didn't have a good answer for, since she had made mention of ads I hadn't seen. I wrote her this afternoon to ask what ads she meant, and she nearly bit my head off in her crappy little reply. So I got all pedantic in mine, and told her I hadn't already read the ads she mentioned because they were for something I did for myself, and didn't need to know what anyone charged for doing it. I did offer a few tips, but I certainly didn't offer to do the service for her.

In other words, I used the talisman from the first paragraph!

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky