Becky Says...

March 11, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Hint

Not exactly a household hint, but one for those with really long hair. Go now and put a ponytail holder or a hairclip in your wallet or on your keyring or somehow make sure there is one with you whenever you leave home.

This valuable tip brought to you courtesy of a very windy day!

It was a lovely, warm day here, so when I went out this afternoon to do errands, I decided to walk. I didn't think about the March wind when I left my apartment, because it wasn't blowing at the moment. In fact, it didn't start to blow till I had finished my errands and was getting set to walk home.

I had two hands full of things (groceries), and realized I was in for an interesting trek as soon as I left the store. I had worn my hair down, and didn't happen to have anything to hold it with me. It was all right at first; the wind's direction was such that my hair was being blown back, off my face. But then I turned a corner, and the wind didn't. So my hair was doing a face-slap motion.

I put the bag in one hand down and tried tucking my hair behind my ears. It stayed there for a few seconds, just long enough for me to pick up the bag. Then whapped me again. And so forth and so on all the way home. And of course, I had nothing with me to hold my hair still or at least make it blow away from my face.

I'm sure I frightened several small children and at least one adult along my route.

This hint is also useful if you wind up in a car with someone who wants the windows down when you least expect it. I have a couple of short-haired friends who do that to me. But I have been prepared for them. It's the ones whose preference for open windows I don't know of who have caught me unprepared. But I am learning. Tonight I'm stashing ponytail holders in my wallet and in the pocket of my glasses case, and anywhere else I can think of that might be handy.

After all, there's a lot of March left.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky