Becky Says...

March 6, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Say "Thank You"

Not to mind your manners too much---but if someone has done right by you, please take a minute to say so. Particularly in dealing with someone doing customer service work. You might just make someone's day.

I learned that lesson from my mother a long time back. After I had taken a full-time job, it was not easy for me to go back to her house and play my piano. I did some "sound checking" and realized it would be just fine for me to have my piano come live in my apartment. So I discussed it with her, and we made plans to have the piano moved.

She did her research on the subject, and picked the moving company she thought would do the best job. And she was right.

The two men who arrived at my apartment with the piano were happy to stop at a pay phone and call me at work to let me know they were nearly to the apartment. When I got to my apartment, they were already here, and had the piano ready to come in the door. I was, of course, delighted to have it here, and was delighted that it made it through the move with no problem whatever. I told the movers how happy I was, and of course tipped them.

Before I went back to work, I called Mother to let her know all was well and how pleased I was with the service.

Mother, in turn, called the moving company. The gentleman who answered the call apparently got most of the complaints. When Mother told him she was calling to say thanks and to report on how well things had gone, he was quiet for a moment, then thanked her. He said in the many years he had been in business, there had been very few thank-you calls, and the ones that came made doing his job much nicer.

Try it. It's really nice to make someone smile.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky