Becky Says...

March 3, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Treasure Hunt and Tackiness

I've been on a treasure hunt today. No maps, no pirate chest, and no shovels involved in this one. Instead, I've been looking through some things in my apartment, in search of something I've misplaced. Along with the hunt I've been doing some sorting and tossing, because I've found things not where they belong, and other things no longer necessarily important.

The hunt will continue, because, alas, I have not found the item for which I was looking. And the sorting and tossing will continue because I'm in a sorting-and-tossing mood, and I know myself well enough to know that if I don't take advantage of such moods when they strike, I lose the chance to gain storage space!

I'll tell you one thing that will not be found in my house: a Dale Earnhardt Clock. I'm not sure when this piece of pseudo-memorabilia was thought up (probably the day Dale died), but today was the first time I've seen ads for it.

The clock itself is tacky and cheap-looking---a depiction of a race car driving in circles around the outer edge of the clock face.

While I see the immediately-post-mortem selling of stuff already made prior to his death as being a bit close to the edge of good taste, I see this new item and its sales pitch as being far beyond the bounds of acceptable.

The notion of manufacturing something to take advantge of the publicity surrounding this man's death is just repulsive.

I would hope that no buyers are to be found.

But while I'm mentioning Dale Earnhardt: have you heard that a newspaper in Florida wants the autopsy photographs made public? Follow the link if you want to know their side of this one. My take on it is this could have been handled a whole lot better.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky