Becky Says...

February 3, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Under the Windows

Under the windows the wild people are. Not inside my apartment, but out on the front porch. These wild people have not yet attained age five. They live in or near my building in the complex, and think there's no better way to spend a Saturday than running the length of the porch and jumping off the end. Don't worry---it's about a stairstep's distance down, and the yard is the landing pad; grass stains are the biggest danger in this.

And all this running is beneath window level. Most of it is accompanied by giggles and shouts for some other wild person to cone join the game. A few exuberant yells-for-the-hell-of-it, too.

You might think this would have driven noise-hating me nuts today, but it didn't. I enjoyed hearing the wild people. I remember being young enough to think jumping off the bottom step was the best thing in the world. I am not sure exactly when that activity got replaced by something else fun for me, but for a few minutes this afternoon, my inner three-year-old was jumping along with them, answering the call to come play.

I hope you had some fun today, too!

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky