Becky Says...

January 22, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Good Monday

I love pleasant little surprises. I went to the grocery store today without having checked the specials in the weekly ads. And when I got there, something on my very short list was on sale. May not sound like much, but I took it as a good omen.

And it was a good day. One thing that makes any day better is a good laugh, and the laugh for today comes from a link I got from Beth's Bad Hair Days this morning. It is to this site, which welcomes submissions, in case you've heard any good ones.

I've been meaning to mention that you are welcome to put business links in my forum, in this thread. The intent here is for linking to smaller business interests, where you either are the owner or know the owner personally. And of course, links to personal sites are welcome. As always, HTML is welcome, but not required, in posts.

In a note today, my friend Wendy mentioned the concept of Senior Citizen discounts (in relation to their happening on different days in different estblishments). That reminded me that twenty hears ago I was one of the youngest recipients of said discount. I was the lunch guest of a friend who had attained the age appropriate for the discounts. And he told the server that since he was paying, my meal had to be included---the restaurant usually only offered the discount to the person who was in the age group. The server apparently had no need to quibble. So for the rest of the day, I was the youngest Senior Citizen in Chapel Hill.

Another establishment that sold general merchandise was having a bit of trouble with the etiquette of discerning whether or not a customer qualified for the Senior Citizen discount, since you can't easily ask a person for identification if they're paying for with cash. They solved it rather nicely---on discount day, they extended it to everybody. They didn't advertise this, but if you questioned why you got a discount, they did explain.

Hope you've had a good day, too.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky