Becky Says...

January 21, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sunday Night

Sunday night glimpses into my thoughts, for your consideration and/or amusement.

I am trying hard to control things going on in my life---but it seems the more I try, the more things go all askew. I could give you a list, but I won't.

I'm not terribly depressed over this; actually, I'm in "dammit" mode. That's when you say to yourself that things shouldn't be this way, dammit, and you go figure out the next step. Sometimes the figuring only takes a minute. So you can correctly make the assumption that I've spent a lot of this weekend figuring and setting some things in motion.

Wish me luck!

Wanna hear something I think is just plain silly? Someone I know who has dabbled in having a web-based business has never bought anything online. Um, if you're not willing to be a buyer "that way," why do you think you should sell "that way" either? I hadn't suggested that this person buy anything from my site; I had suggested checking at nationally-known department stores' sites for a product.

My mother always told me that "Do as I say, not as I do," didn't work well. I do believe she was right.

Another think that struck me as a bit silly this past week was a forwarded e-mail from an old friend. I hope her tongue was in her cheek in sending it. The thing was about how sending Internet jokes and such was a way of saying the recipient was being thought of, even if the sender didn't have time to write.

I haven't timed this with a stopwatch, of course, but I do believe that sending a couple of sentences that said something to the effect of, "You're in my thoughts. I'm sorry this is brief, I'm bogged down at work," wouldn't take much more time than opening an e-mail address book and forwarding something to everyone in it.

This sort of message would be a lot more appreciated in Beckyland!

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky