Becky Says...

January 18, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Pops

I have a love-hate relationship with balloons. I love to see them, but I hate it when they break. I hate the popping sound. I also rarely use canned biscuits, because I hate hearing those cans pop. Anything that explosive in sound startles me, even when I think I'm prepared to hear it.

A lot of veterans report similar reactions, from what I've heard. But I'm not a veteran. I've never spent any time around guns being fired or bombs going off. And I've been this way all my life. It must have some trigger buried somewhere in my subconscious.

Anyway, it means that I try to avoid being around most explosive noises. Which is one reason I don't particularly care for firecrackers. In case you wondered, bubble wrap popping doesn't startle me. Neither does popcorn popping. It has to be a fairly loud pop to startle me.

One of the nicer things about passing age thirty for me was the realization that it was socially acceptable to say out loud that I didn't care for certain noises. I was no longer expected to be amused when someone snuck up on a balloon with a pin. In fact, I no longer had much reason to socialize with people who did such things.

There are some perks to being an adult.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky