Becky Says...

December 28, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Resolutions

I have a casual friend that I think I shock every time she asks me a question. And she's not being nosy, it's just the way she asks things sometimes gets her a response she didn't expect.

We approach life very differently. I enjoy being around her, but sometimes when the questions start, I want to make a polite excuse and leave, because she's going to make me work to answer them.

An example of one of her questions that got her an unexpected answer was the last time she asked me about my New Year's resolutions. I don't make them. She had a problem accepting that, because, after all, everybody makes them.

I told her that it wasn't that I didn't believe in self-improvement, but that I tried to do things to make me a better Becky whenever I thought of them---which might mean I start doing something different on October 3, not January 1.

If making resolutions works for her, I'm glad. And if making them works for you, I'm glad for you, too. Come tell us your preference.

But don't look for my list on January 1.

I've resolved not to make one.

* * * * * * * * * * *

If you want to see Christmas in Beckyland, click here.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky