Becky Says...

December 11, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Another Party Story

I've told you about my favorite yearly Christmas party, and how much fun it is. That story reminded me that other friends also used to have a Christmastime open house. The open houses are no longer being held, but they were fun while they lasted. The hosts invited people they worked with each year, along with a group they knew socially. I was part of the social group.

And at the last of those parties I attended, it happened that there were very few people I knew. Most of the friends-who-weren't-work-friends either came and went before I did, or were there after I had left. So during the time I was present, I was pretty much left to mingle with people I hadn't met.

That was fine, of course, but it took a funny turn when one guest came up to me and said, "Who are you?" I wish I had come up with a more creative answer, but I just went with the truth. It was a little bizarre to be asked. The usual greeting from a stranger was more along the lines of "Hi, I'm (whoever), nice to meet you!" I've laughed over it for several years now.

I suspect she was thinking out loud, and did't really mean to blurt it out quite that way. I wasn't doing anything out of the ordinary party behavior that would give someone reason to wonder if I had dropped in from another planet.

But then again, she was wearing earrings made from really big Christmas tree lights (yes, they blinked on and off; yes they were as tacky as you think I mean). Maybe she was from another planet!

Text � copyright 2000 Becky