Becky Says...

December 3, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Snow No-Show

Yesterday when snow was being predicted for this area of North Carolina, the meteorologists made mention that it might wind up snowing more east of here than here. And that's what happened.

I am not sorry we didn't get any snow. But I understand there are people who complained to the local television stations about the forecasted 10-15 inches not coming here. Which proves you can't please everyone, and that some people will complain about anything. And in light of the aforementioned mention of the potential for the snow to go east, it also shows some people don't listen carefully.

I remember once walking across the Carolina campus on the way to class, after a snowstorm. A fellow student made the remark that snow quit being fun after you got out of grade school. And that pretty much sums it up for me. It was fun back when school got called off for snow. You could stay home and watch tv and stuff, and if you wanted to go out and play, that was okay, too---after all, you weren't out sick!

But once you get old enough that you don't get snow days, snow isn't quite the fun.

Oh, it is occasionally fun to see snow, of the variety that coats the grass but not the paved surfaces and doesn't last past the late afternoon. That's pretty and not likely to cause much inconvenience for anyone.

People joke about Southerners not knowing what to do in snow and ice. Well, duh, folks. If we wanted to have to deal with it all the time, we could move north. And yes, we do usually stock up on things that make our lives happier when we hear predictions of frozen precipitation. We consider it common sense.

Last winter when we had all the snow and ice, I was grateful that my freelance work was such that I didn't have to leave the apartment. I hadn't had that pleasure in a long time.

I don't like to even try walking on slick terrain. I broke my knee when I was a child, in a fall (not on ice but on a waxed floor at a cousin's house). I don't particularly ever want to do something like that again, thanks.

So if forecasted snow doesn't happen, I won't be the one calling to complain. I promise.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky