Becky Says...

November 29, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Some Free Advice

I've told you before that I'm a member of a crafters' group. This is a very generous group, in terms of sharing information. When a member of the group has a new or redone website, the group members are frequently asked to go look, to make sure the site shows up correctly on various browsers, etc. If I have time to look, I do. And I occasionally will do a minor bit of proofreading for free. I'm happy to try to contribute what I can to the group...I've learned a lot from various members.

Today's mail from the group brought such a request---for us to go look and make comments on anything we thought should be improved. And I had some time this morning, so I went to look.

Ye gods. I looked at the index page and at one other page on the site, and saw so many typos and spelling errors that I knew I couldn't take the time to write it all out. I wrote a note to the site owner suggesting that she make her son the website designer run the text through a spell checker. I didn't post this to the group, of course, and I wrote the note more diplomatically than my sentence might indicate.

Apparently she knew there just might be spelling errors; that's one of the things she particularly asked us to check.

Another piece of free advice, to anyone in need: business e-mail should not be signed "luv yas." Someone else in the group signs all posts that way (to translate: "love you all"), and I am amazed. The rest of us seem to make do with "Thanks in advance" (after an advice request) or "Hope this helps" (if we've answered a question).

And a final tip for the day: "Y'all" is the correct way to write the abbreviation of "you all." Gotta watch that apostrophe!

Text © copyright 2000 Becky