Becky Says...

November 27, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






News?

I have been watching the news on one local station today. Decision-makers there seemed to think the most important thing in North Carolina was that someone had turned down a college football coaching job.

It was the lead story at 6:00 p.m.

I guess I shouldn't be surprised. This station is the same one that did man-on-the-street interviews that showed local residents proclaiming they didn't care who would be President, they just wanted the thing over. So if that's the local attitude, no wonder a non-hiring event took the absolute highest priority.

I have mixed feelings about man-on-the-street questions and opinion polls. On one hand it's interesting to see what a percentage of the population thinks about something, but on the other hand, it makes me wonder why anyone wants to know some of this.

One time I was interviewed for a -street piece about parking problems. I believe the question that was asked was what, in my opinion, caused us to have parking problems in town.

I swear I did not say, "There are too many cars for the available parking spaces."

Text � copyright 2000 Becky