Becky Says...

November 26, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sunday Rambling

I was true to my word---I didn't work this holiday weekend. I did a few things around the apartment, but for the most part I got busy watching tv news.

The election process fascinates me. I don't want to hear any more protestors on either side, but it fascinates me to see the process work. I feel rather thankful that I am alive at this moment to witness it, since this is a truly historic event.

I did have to do a bit of research this afternoon, though---I had to read through several parts of the Krispy Kreme Doughnuts website to make sure I had my facts right before answering a post to a discussion list. I wound up hungry for doughnuts, but was too lazy to go do anything about it.

The discussion morphed into comments on other foods, including definitions of colloquial terms used to make sure we were all talking about the same thing.

This reminded me of a time when I was involved with a campus ministry group that had supper together once a week. Several of us were sitting around after the meal one evening, talking about upcoming menus. One woman suggested serving "rice casseroles." I had to ask her what that was---I had visions of several different kinds of rice put into a casserole dish. That might have been interesting, but I really wondered what would be the side dishes.

In case you don't know, either, what she meant was a casserole with some kind of meat and rice.

Gotta love those regional differences!

Text © copyright 2000 Becky