Becky Says...

January 2, 1001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Idiot Redux

Remember the young man who thinks he wants his word processor files printed? Remember his wonderful arrogance?

Well, he called again. This time, about 7:30 this evening. The message on my voice mail was that he would really like to get the files printed, and he'd bring his own paper. "And a little money, if you'd like."

No kidding! If I would like it, he'll bring money. How grateful am I that he made this most generous offer!

I'm practically dancing around the apartment as I type this! I bet he would bring a whole dollar, and expect me to be ecstatic!

Oops, just checked voice mail, to find yet another message from him. This time he wanted to let me know he'd be available for me to call back for half an hour. Between 8:15 and 8:45 p.m.

Aside from the fact that it's a long time after 8:45 p.m., I don't return business calls at night.

I have some things to do tomorrow. If I get a chance in between errands and chores, I'll call him back. I'll tell him it will cost him at least one hour of my fee, and if I wind up getting his machine, I will tell him what the business hours are.

By the way---it dawned on me after his last call that he might not have a defective word processor, but might instead have a defective diskette. It will cost him to find that out, if he brings the diskette to me. I tried to find out from the business machines repair technician who sent him to me in the first place, but the original contact with the young man was so far back the technician doesn't recall.

Stay tuned. I suspect I'll have at least one other update to this story!

* * * * * * * * * * *

Latest word on my hometown friend is that he's holding his own.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky