Becky Says...

October 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






On Business Links - October 11

If you're the owner of a small business that has its very own website, and you'd like to ask other owners with websites to link to yours, do make sure you include a link to your site. This just makes it ever so much easier!

Says she who got a link request for Rebeccaworks from someone who was either terribly tired or for whom this whole website thing is way too new to have registered in the appropriate synapses.

For the record, I used the domain name in the e-mail address and looked at the site anyway. Haven't decided whether or not to do a link exchange.

I don't actually like the ways one is supposed to operate regarding business links, in terms of trying to collect as many inbound ones as possible, so I don't go asking. Over the years, I've accepted a number of requests, but have turned down many more than I've accepted. And I've given links to sites that didn't ask, merely because I wanted to do so.

There are also a number of sites linked because I am familiar with their owners from our membership in an arts and crafts group. And of course, some to businesses with which I have an affiliate relationship.

I have read the suggestions for business linking, and I've come to the conclusion that there are about as many suggestions as there are business sites. In other words, deciding what works for your site is the way to go; none of these things are the One True Way.

But that said, I really do suggest following my advice in the first paragraph!

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky