Becky Says...

October 8, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Thanksgiving to Remember

Happy Thanksgiving to all Canadians!

In terms of holidays, (USA) Thanksgiving is the one with the most easily modified traditions in my family. I usually go have dinner with cousins who live in the next town over from my hometown, but there have been years when for one reason or another I didn't.

In recent years, a Thanksgiving that stands out in my mind is one I spent with a different set of cousins, up in the northern North Carolina Mountains. There were cousins in from several different states, and all age groups from babies up through upper eighties were in attendance. We were at my great aunt's home. Lots of good company on a lovely day. And since several of us are musicians, we took turns at the piano. We don't get to do that often, and it was a lot of fun.

Several of us who were there from out of town stayed overnight. All through the night we could hear trucks on the nearby highway. They weren't loud enough to be a bother. All of them were heading out with full loads of freshly-cut Christmas trees, ready for the after-Thanksgiving crowds.

The next morning, I sat for a few minutes on the porch swing. The house was built with one of those great porches that goes around a corner, to cover the front and one side of the house. And the swing is situated at the back edge of the side part. It's angled, so anyone sitting in it can see the view in two different directions. The house is on a mountain, and the view in any direction is really lovely.

After my swing session, we went to visit some other relatives who had been with their children the day before. We came back to my aunt's house for lunch, then it was time for me to leave. I left with lots of wonderful memories.

I hope you've had good times that leave you with wonderful memories, too.

Text © copyright 2000 Becky