Becky Says...

October 5, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Thursday Thoughts

Something I'm pondering today: whether or not to send condolences to a friend whose ex-husband died earlier this week. The split was messy, he was remarried, the children they shared are grown, so there really wasn't any connection left. But somehow it feels weird not to do anything about it.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I made the mistake this afternoon of letting a machine know I was in a hurry. I wanted to finish a printing job so I could go run errands. Turns out the printer jammed, so I had to deal with that. Then it and the computer couldn't figure out that the jam was cleared and they could continue. After the printer spit out the umpteenth piece of paper with cute little designs (hearts, equal signs, you get the idea) signifying its unhappiness, I used a choice word or so from my "collection" and shut them both down.

I decided to run the errands and finish printing later, when I wasn't in any hurry (or could at least pretend to the machine that I had not a thing in the world I'd prefer to be doing). It worked just fine this time.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Our local Post Office has a display area where all sorts of denominations of stamps are presented for sale. The one kind I had trouble finding today? Yep, plain old first class letter postage. I usually don't go to the Post Office for those; I get them at the grocery store.

But I like this Post Office. It's a very friendly place. Last December, Santa Claus was there, selling the holiday stamps (okay, he was selling whatever postal supplies one needed).

* * * * * * * * * * *

Come check the recent answers in the forum, and contribute one, if you'd like.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky