Becky Says...

September 23, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Seasons

I am sad to see fall come. I have long hated this season. It represents death to me. And this is NOT a year when I need any more representations of death, thanks!

I know that the cycles in the year are important to the earth, and that this is the season of harvest and plenty. But for me, it's pretty much a season of sadness. I'm sure this representation has its beginnings in that a lot of the people who were important in my life have died in the fall, most notably my father and my aunt.

I don't like seeing the leaves on the trees turn colors and fall off, I don't like the crisp air, I hate the shorter days, and I'm not at all fond of football.

And then there are memories of always having to go back to school. The last year I was really happy to go to school was Fourth Grade. That was a lot of grades ago.

In fact, about the only things I can think of offhand that are commendable about the season are the new television shows, Thanksgiving, and my birthday.

Yes, I know most people like fall. It's the favorite season for a lot of people, and here in North Carolina, the mountains have a reputation for being especially lovely in the fall.

I don't particularly like winter, but I think I'm resigned to things being dead around me by the time it arrives.

I'm a springtime person. I love to see the new growth on trees, and spring flowers blooming, and all the other things that are signs of life at its beginning. It's the notion of hope that I find so appealing about the spring.

And I'm rather fond of summer, too. I don't usually mind the heat or the humidity, and I love the long daylight hours.

So I hate to see it end.

What's your favorite season?

Text � copyright 2000 Becky