Becky Says...

September 8, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






All Good Gifts

I got a wonderful package this afternoon, from Bonnie and her husband, Wil. It was a cigar box full of all sorts of advertising gimmicks. The two surprise items in the box were an antenna ball from Jack-in-the-Box, and a small deck of playing cards advertising the State of Texas. I've had a lot of fun looking at the goodies in the box. I will enjoy them for years to come. And every time I see these goodies, I will think of Bonnie and Wil and how generous they are.

Not to pat myself on the back for remembering my manners, but while I was sending a thank-you note for the new gimmicks, I was reminded of a time when I was away at summer school and got a note from my mother, reminding me to send a friend at home a thank-you note. The only problem with the suggestion was that I had no idea what she wanted me to thank the person for giving me. Turns out the friend had sent a care package, but hadn't sent it the day Mother thought she had. And I was happy to send the note as soon as I had the package.

I said a while back that I would tell you about the best gifts I get each year, from my friend Donna. She has, over the years, paid attention to the things I really like, including specific brands where that matters. And for the past several years I've received the most wonderful bag at Christmas, filled with all sorts of things I'm guaranteed to like. There are some grocery items, and something fun (like a new shade of nail polish and a make-up bag in last year's bag). Some years there has been note paper, and one year she gave me a tote bag. It means a whole lot to me that she has paid that much attention to my likes.

Other good things this week: some good advice from David; getting to see some cast pictures from Statics and Dynamics in Patrick's journal; and the return of the hand baskets to the grocery store!

Text � copyright 2000 Becky