Becky Says...

October 21, 2000

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






All Creatures


All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.


Did you notice that in the verse from the hymn above it doesn't say that God made "some" creatures? Yep, that word up there four times is ALL.

So don't bother telling me that God hates gay people, or any of His creatures. Because I will in no uncertain terms tell you why you're mistaken.

Not too long ago, someone I've known a while came out to me. He took a leap in doing this, because he thought I thought homosexuality was wrong. He thought I would think less of him if I knew his truth. That nearly broke my heart.

Apparently he came to this conclusion at least in part because he knew I had done a lot of work with churches over the years. I gave him the ten-second version of what I really think, which is that God who invented biology and chemistry and love understands them, and wants His creatures to use these gifts.

I've written this just in case anyone else wondered what I think.

All creatures. The Lord God made them all.

Hymn text by Cecil Frances Alexander, 1848

Text � copyright 2000 Becky