Becky Says...

October 2012

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Rest in Peace, Bill - October 15

My friend and our former UNC System President Bill Friday died on Friday. In one of those convergences of events, he died on University Day, which commemorates the laying of the cornerstone of the first building at UNC-Chapel Hill. Of course, the system is larger than just this campus, but UNC-CH is the oldest state university and the system administration is here.

I don't want to try telling you what a wonderful man he was, or how much his work influenced and shaped things in this state and beyond. Others are more capable of doing that...go to your favorite search engine. Instead, I'll share the link to my most recent entry that had to do with him, written on his 90th birthday.

And I'll tell you that I'm sad that I've lost a friend who was one of my personal heroes, and that we've lost a good one.

Text � copyright 2000-2012 Becky