Becky Says...

May 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Nameless - May 7

Yesterday one of my journal buddies was going down memory lane and was pondering the changes in popularity in names in different generations in families. She asked us to share the names of our parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents, or at least as many as we could name.

I started to do it, but I got stuck on the great-grandparent levels because I never knew them and rarely heard them spoken of as other than "Grandmother/father (Surname)." I'm sure I've been told their names, but yesterday they were nameless to my brain.

If the names don't surface soon, I'll look for my copies of various family documents. And if that doesn't work, I have several people in mind to ask.

It's funny that I didn't realize I didn't know these names till I was asked.

But even funnier to me: I could tell you anecdotes about most of them.

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky