Becky Says...

January 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Times - January 31

There was done, back in 1994, a retrospective of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, called "Crossroads on the Hill." I watched it at the time it was originally broadcast, which was during my time mostly spent at my mother's home.

And I watched it again today.

I remember how homesick it made me the last time around. I remember paying careful attention, just in case there was a shot of someplace very special to me.

Today, no homesickness, and probably a bit less careful in terms of paying attention. But it did make me think of the things that have happened in the intervening 15 years.

Funny how that works.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I'm usually one who remembers anniversaries, especially those that are mine. But I forgot that Thursday was the 30th anniversary of my first full-time, grown-up job. I'm not sure what prompted me to remember it on Friday, but I'm glad I did.

And I'm glad I had that job, which was secretarial-administrative work at Non-Profit #1, and which I kept for eight years. I learned a lot about the world, and met some really great people during that time.

Text � copyright 2000-2009 Becky