Becky Says...

December 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Gift - December 26

Yesterday afternoon I watched the presentation on PBS of part of the 2007 Christmas Festival at St. Olaf College. I was doing this in part because listening to anything from St. Olaf makes me feel close to my late chosen brother D., whose love of and talent in music were nurtured there.

It is a St. Olaf tradition to close the Christmas Festival with the hymn, Beautiful Savior, as arranged by F. Melius Christiansen, founder of St. Olaf's music department. We used the same arrangement in 1995 at D.'s funeral. I like the arrangement, and really like the tradition.

I will say it was a little tricky yesterday when the hymn started. The camera held for a long moment on a young man in the chorus who reminded me very much of D.

Although that startled me, it wound up being just fine. It sent me on a trip down memory lane, to happy times.

In its own way, it was a gift.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky


Holidailies