Becky Says...

December 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Glimpse - December 17

I needed a couple of things, so I headed downtown to the drugstore in early afternoon. On the ride, I passed the former condo of some friends with whom I used to ride the bus when I worked downtown back in the 1980s.

Our riding together came to an end when they moved to Raleigh, but I still saw them occasionally and kept up with them through mutual friends.

Then the husband died very much too young. The widow and their children continued to live in Raleigh, but I lost touch with them when I had to spend so much time away helping my mother.

Anyway, this afternoon I spent a moment wondering about the widow and children, who are now adults. I hoped they were doing well. With that, my mind moved on to my errands.

But then something happened, since, after all, 'tis the season.

On my way out of the drugstore, I found myself walking behind the widow. I was too far away to catch her before she headed into a building, but it was wonderful to catch a glimpse.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky


Holidailies