Becky Says...

September 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Of Chapel Hill - September 11

I was in downtown Chapel Hill for a bit today and saw a sign announcing that someone is selling the old "Gambler" skillets from the Ramshead Rathskeller, usually known as the Rat.

For those who might not know what I'm talking about, the Gambler was a very popular steak dish, and the skillets were just that: cast-iron round griddles. The steaks and accompaniments were served on the very hot skillets, and patrons were warned of the heat.

Lots of people, including me, have good memories of the Rat, which was in business a very long time. I didn't go that often, but every time I went the food was good and the service was, too. And that's pretty much what I ask of any restaurant.

While I'm wandering down the memory lane that is Franklin Street, I'll mention the still-empty storefront that had been a branch of a drugstore chain until January 2007. The property has been renovated, and I thought to look today to see if any signs were up announcing a new tenant. Nope, still for rent.

Nice paint job and bigger windows, but I still think the owners shot themselves in the foot when they insisted the drugstore take over the building's second floor or not renew the lease. Seems to me that over a year and a half is a long time for rental property to be open.

Note this is not the drugstore where I love to eat lunch. That's Sutton's, which is an entity unto itself. I was there today, in fact, not for lunch but for some over-the-counter chocolate. Sutton's is doing just fine.

Which means though it's part of memory lane for me, it's also part of the present. And that pleases me more than I can say.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky