Becky Says...

June 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Weekend - June 29

This has been a weekend mainly devoted to staying close to the air conditioning. In other words, I've stayed home. I've crocheted, I've watched television, I've played lots of games of Snood and various types of solitaire, and I've slept. Among other things.

This morning, I think the Bloglines notifier needs a nap. It first popped up to inform me that there were 469 unread items for my perusal. Turned out to be five. A few minutes later, it suggested I check out 200 items. That one may well have added up to 200, but it was already-seen pictures from my Flickr contacts. I'm waiting to see what shows up next notifier update.

And I got another Twitter follower. In case you're not yet playing at Twitter: following someone means reading their posts on your Twitter page instead of having to go to their pages individually.

There is, in Twitterdom, the phenomenon of spam following. That's when someone follows you mainly to get you to check them out. The spammer usually has some questionable business going, and wants more customers. Or they're pushing some political platform or other. Spam followers are usually fairly easy to spot.

But the one yesterday was a bit of a mystery. At first glance, she seemed to be a grandmother who had take up both scrapbooking and Internet in her retirement. A closer look revealed that she was really pushing people to take action of a sort I'm not taking because it has to do with a political cause with which I don't agree.

You can believe I won't follow her in return.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky