Becky Says...

June 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Memory Lane - June 18

In a conversation this evening I was reminded of an episode from high school. There was a football coach who liked to say things and/or make jokes just to get a rise out of people. Some were clean, some were crude, and most were somewhere in the middle.

He took to calling my teacher-mother, Mary, "Virgin Mary." She found it a little stupid, but didn't want to get too much humorless bitch cred with her fellow teachers, so she never complained.

But one day he said it in front of me. I looked at him and said, "I'm living proof she isn't."

Left him speechless.

* * * * * * * * * * *

By the way, if you haven't already read Bev's account of Shelly and Ellen's wedding, please do. I've followed their story through Bev's journal for a lot of years now, and I could not be more pleased for them.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky