Becky Says...

April 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






How Much Wood? - April 28

On a recent afternoon I needed to get something in the outgoing mail, so I went down to the box in the complex. As I was walking back to my apartment, I noticed that my next-door neighbor was looking out her living room window.

As I got a little closer, I noticed there was a woodchuck under a car in the parking lot. The animal came far enough out to look at me, then went back into hiding.

About the same time, my neighbor came out onto the porch to ask me if I had seen the woodchuck. I think we both needed the validation that we weren't losing our minds imagining there were wild creatures in the parking lot!

We talked for a moment about the fact that the animal was probably looking for shade, then we went on with our respective afternoons.

I looked out another time or two, but I didn't see the woodchuck again. The car that was serving as hiding space was gone when I went out the next morning, and there was no evidence of mishap, so I'm guessing the animal went back to the remains of the woods behind the building.

Either that, or there's a new tenant in one of the apartments. In any case, I hope the woodchuck enjoyed the visit to the suburban jungle.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky