Becky Says...

February 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Monday - February 4

I've spent a lot of the weekend crocheting. And once again, crocheting is reminding me of the patience lesson. I had to take out several rows when I realized I had missed a stitch repeat, thus making the thing smaller. Even at that, the work is going well.

Today I got up to find news from my friend Francis-Maria, that he has finished a manuscript that he's been working on recently. I'll let him tell you about it by quoting from his note (which he invited recipients to share):

It is with great pleasure that I can announce the publication of my new book, THE DHARMA OF COMPASSION -- One Monk's Reflections on the Teachings of the Enlightened & Anointed Ones, by Lojong Media Publications.

The book takes an insightful look at the essential teachings of the Buddha and the Christ, and offers readers a simple means of understanding the spiritual paths that each of these compassionate teachers offered as a way to free ourselves and others from suffering and cyclic existence.

Taken from some of the most popular and well-received of my dharma talks, sermons and lectures, the book offers "bite-sized chunks" of timeless teaching, and is perfect for individual, group or classroom study, as well as being suitable for "table readings" in monasteries, convents and friaries.

I look forward to reading the book, which is available in print or e-book form, here. And please feel free to share this with your friends.

I'm planning to spend the rest of the day crocheting. Since we're having some pretty weather, I may even do some of that work outside.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky