Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Photo Entry, only Not - January 31

The Usual Suspects have, for a while now, had a Flickr group. Each month a theme is chosen...some months two themes. One of the themes for January was "White."

I decided the whitest thing I had to photograph was flour. So I posted two shots of the beginnings of biscuit-making the other day.

Ordinarily, I'd just post the two in this entry, but Flickr isn't cooperating at the moment. Instead, I'll suggest you try the link above, and that you look at the whole set.

The End of the Race - January 30

I am really sad that John Edwards chose to stop his campaign. I did a lot of soul-searching and a lot of research before I (very recently) allowed myself to say out loud that I supported him. I needed to make sure that I didn't support him just because he was local.

And I'll tell you the thing that was the deciding point for me was the specifics of the health care plan he proposed. I liked his ideas on bringing the troops home, too, and his thoughts on reducing poverty. I also really, truly thought he had a good handle on what is going on in America these days.

To borrow from history, back the first time Bill Clinton was running someone asked him in a town hall meeting how much a loaf of bread cost. He had the answer, without having to ask someone, and he was within a few cents of being exactly right. Had the question come up, I'm pretty sure John Edwards could have answered it within the same few-cents margin.

Unlike many of those who have participated in exit polls, I didn't have a second-choice picked, so as I sit here I do not know for whom I plan to vote. I do know that I probably won't make that decision anytime soon.

I wish John and Elizabeth Edwards and their children the very best of futures, and look forward to seeing what they'll do next.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky