Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Remembering Snow - January 25

As I have been reminded several times today, eight years ago we had a record-setting snowstorm. The official amount was 20.3 inches, but I know some of us got several more inches thanks to drifts.

I remember several days after that, long before I could have gotten my own car out, a friend with 4-wheel drive came and took me to the bank and to grocery shop. I decided the easiest thing to do was go to the Harris Teeter store (same chain, different branch from my usual one) nearest to the bank, and that was perhaps the best decision I made all that month.

The store was well-stocked, and even though a huge number of people could get out and had decided to go shopping there at the same moment, the staff in the store kept things moving along. I don't think I was in there longer than I would have been on any normal day.

I was so impressed with this experience that I sent e-mail to the store's headquarters, which is several hours west of here. I knew that it had been tremendously difficult to get food and non-food things to the store, and that the employees had done things above and beyond the call to be at work and to make things move so smoothly. And I really appreciated the efforts.

A few hours later, I got a lovely note, thanking me for taking the time to write. That was icing on the cake for me, as far as thinking good things about that chain.

The snow eventually melted, and life returned to normal. And that store chain has kept me as a loyal customer, in large part because I know they'll go the extra miles.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky