Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Yarn - January 20

A few years back I was making something for a customer that required the use of very thin yarn. Toward the end of the project, I needed some more, so I bought a rather large skein of it (it was white, no dye-lot) with the idea that I'd definitely find other projects that needed it.

Since then, I've used some of that skein for practice swatches. I don't mean gauge swatches for a particular project. I mean swatches to see what happens when you use whatever size crochet hook you happen to want to test.

Most of those I've ripped out, because once I knew whether or not the yarn and hook played well together, I didn't really need the swatch. And I haven't had reason to use that particular yarn for anything else in a while.

So one day last week I was working on prototypes of things, and made a white one because the yarn was there. I started out with some of the previously-used yarn, and continued on with fresh. And you can definitely tell where the fresh starts. It's bright and white. The previously-used looks like your basic gray.

My current adventure is finding out how long it takes to soak the thing clean.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky