Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sunday - January 13

The main reason for this post is to wish David a Happy Twelfth Anniversary of Planet SOMA. Eight years and change ago I started reading that site, which was also David's journal at the time. After reading all the archives I wrote to David, and the rest is history. Definitely glad I read. Definitely glad I wrote. Definitely glad he replied. Definitely glad to have him (and now Mark, of course) in my chosen family.

Otherwise, there really isn't much going on. I ran my errands and have done other usual weekend things. It's been pleasant out the past few days, which has surprised some people who have been seen lugging heavy coats they thought they'd need to wear. Having occasionally been in the same situation, I sympathize with them.

And I can tell you that I'm tired of politics, tired of hearing politicians that I actually like say stupid things, tired of hearing politicians that I don't actually like sounding more intelligent than the ones I like, tired of polls, and tired of not being able to escape the topic if the television happens to be on.

Oh...you thought I was talking just about presidential stuff, didn't you? Nope, I'm talking about state politicians, too. They've started the races in earnest, and it's hard to escape that on television because there are debates and blah de blah being shown on even the local PBS affiliate.

And the ads have started, too. There is one for a candidate for something whose campaign must have seriously deep pockets because his ads have been playing on local television since the first of the year. That one needs to work on the name recognition thing...I don't even remember who he is or what he wants to be elected to do, but I can tell you the woman in his ad gets on my nerves.

Yes, my television has an off switch, and my remote control's mute button works well. I've been taking a lot of advantage of both, and expect to be doing more of the same.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky