Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sounds Off - December 27

A couple of days ago I was watching an area news program. During its course there was a feature on a high school band that will be appearing in a big-deal parade. I'm being vague on purpose.

The band members are being asked to walk the track at the high school while carrying their instruments. This is, according to the director, to get them used to the weight and the distance they'll be dealing with during the parade.

One of the students interviewed said something along the lines of how she was not sure this was really necessary for all the students, particularly for people who were involved in other athletic pursuits, as she was.

The reporter repeated her remark to the band director, whose reply was that whenever a teenager opened his/her mouth, a lie came out.

I'm guessing he was joking, but that remark of his made me so angry I really didn't pay attention to the rest of the report.

I really hope the director doesn't think what he said is true. But I wonder if he has an idea how it sounded to his students, or to teens in general, and to those of us who were or will be teens. I found it quite cruel, and quite stupid.

I don't know enough about the subject to know whether or not the student was raising a valid point. I would hope the director has the necessary knowledge. I do know that there is a huge difference between walking while carrying a band instrument and marching while carrying one. I've done both.

One thing I know with certainty: I am glad I am not in that man's band.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies