Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Choices and Magic - December 22

One of my friends knew for sure, and several others probably guessed: I've been in a hellaciously blue mood this past week. Not depression, just damnit, here comes Christmas and and and. You can probably fill in your own blanks for those ands.

But today I had some magic. It happens that way sometimes. A few days before Christmas something comes along to replenish the joy.

Today had all the potential to be a bad day. The one bus time on the schedule that actually works in terms of connections was running late enough this morning that I wound up missing the bus I wanted to get to go to the grocery store. The problem was that there was a substitute driver on the route, and he was late getting to the beginning point. Domino effect here.

So there I was, in downtown Chapel Hill. I had a choice, though. I could either be grumpy over the bus situation and sit at the bus stop for nearly an hour, or I could look at this as another opportunity to take myself to lunch. Lunch sounded much better than grumping, so I headed to Sutton's, where I had last eaten earlier this month.

When I walked in, the store manager stopped me in the aisle for an exchange of hugs. He then walked with me back to the counter and started telling the cook what to make for me. He remembered not from the earlier meal this month, but from long times back when I used to work downtown. He said, "I may not be (Employee who Knew the Regulars), but I can remember regulars the way she could."

And the food was wonderful, and the company was wonderful, and the rest of the sparkly, lovely day was wonderful, too.

I am so, so glad I chose something that turned out to be magic. I've been in a great mood ever since.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies