Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Multitasking - December 5

On one of my instant messaging programs my default status is "multitasking." I went with that to let would-be chatters know that I might have stepped away from the keyboard for a moment, or I might be working on something, but that I would basically be available to chat if they so chose.

One of my friends popped in one day to let me know that she enjoyed seeing my status whenever she was multitasking herself. Knowing what her day job is, I know that she meant in part that she was often in and out of her office, but could occasionally find a few seconds to chat.

I thought about this yesterday when I was working on my crochet project while reading a craft message board. I know my pattern so well I could probably crochet it in my sleep, though I was keeping it in my line of sight. In other words, I can do both at the same time since it really doesn't matter if I lose my place in the reading.

It's interesting to me what things can be done at the same time. For instance, I have, many a night, written journal entries while chatting on IM with someone. But I can't write entries and talk at the same time. I've tried a few times over the years, and wound up realizing I was telling the journal entry to the person with whom I was attempting to have a conversation. Better to finish the conversation!

Oh, and to answer the unasked question, no, I don't plan to test whether or not I could really crochet in my sleep.

Text � copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies