Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Allegiances - December 1

Sometimes journal fodder comes walking down the street. Today, the street was Columbia Street in Chapel Hill, and the fodder was two men wearing their very different allegiances on their chests.

I'm not sure if they were father and son, though the ages looked right. I'm also not absolutely positive they were together, though they were walking close enough to hold a conversation had they so chosen.

A woman, not obviously allied to either allegiance, was walking along with the two men.

The older man's allegiance was to the U.S. Naval Academy, according to his sweatshirt.. The younger man was wearing a jacket that merely stated West Point.

I smiled as the group walked past. I have no allegiance to either place, but the juxtaposition amused me.

Adding to the journal fodder, a few moments later a car in the nearby parking lot showed me what was perhaps the reason for the two men to be so dressed. The car windows were wearing painted words urging Army to beat Navy.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Me, I don't care who wins that game. The battle I care about today is the one against AIDS. Details of this year's World AIDS Day are available through that link.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies