Becky Says...

September 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Snook - September 19

As I've said before, on weekdays I watch a lot of PBS programming aimed at a seriously younger age range than mine. One of the programs I really like is, "It's a Big, Big World." The premise is a group of animal friends living in what is called the world tree, each in his or her own home. But they spend a lot of time together, and there is a pretty clear sense that they are their own tribe.

The animal who does most of the talking is a sloth named Snook. He is one of the tribe's elders, and does a lot of educating and caretaking of the younger animals. He helps them learn, for instance, that it's okay to admit you're afraid of storms, but that being together during a storm is a good way to keep that fear down to a dull roar.

And he teaches lessons about living in the tree...in the big, big world. Lessons that touch on all aspects of life, like why the water from the water hole at the tree's base is going away (evaporation), along with the reassurance that the next rain will bring some water back.

After watching a while, I realized I liked Snook so very much because he reminds me of one of my own elders. After my father died, one of the cousins on his side of the family made sure that Mother and I were not completely alone against the big, big world.

He made a point of coming by to check on us, and do taller-person things like change ceiling light bulbs. He bought me things, some of which I still have because they're useful even today (like the little table on which my scanner lives).

And he taught me a lot about the world itself. He knew a whole lot about trees and other plants, and about animals. He loved the world and respected it, and could always find the beauty in it. And he was gentle in his lessons.

I am enormously grateful that he took the time to share that love and respect, and that beauty, with me.

And I thank Snook and the rest of the tribe for the reminders.

Text � copyright 2000-2007 Becky