Becky Says...

August 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 19

I have spent some time this weekend reading through Twin City Sentinel, Mark and David's site about all things Winston-Salem. Go check it!

Winston-Salem is near and dear to my heart, because my mother grew up there. Every time I'm in the city I feel as though I'm in a sort of hometown of my own, never mind that I've never lived there. It just feels like home...a safe, welcoming place. I'm glad to have a chance to learn a little more about it, through different eyes.

I've been thinking a lot the past few months about my mother's family. Some of that comes from sorting through some photographs, and one of those photographs, of one of the ancestral homes, is now the desktop on my computer. It's a home that I spent some great times visiting, so in its own way it's a trip down memory lane (not to mention NC Highway 18) every time I look at it.

And it makes me smile.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky