Becky Says...

August 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Tired - August 14

A friend asked tonight how I am. Mainly I'm tired. I'm tired of worrying about the heat and having the really lovely weather be such a huge factor in how I live. I really hate being afraid. I'm not used to worrying about health in ways other than "I shouldn't do X because it will hurt my bad back." I'm used to being able to get some really good exercise on walks home from the store. I'm used to getting along without the expense of a car.

This wasn't an issue the past summers when I haven't had a car because there was the easily-reached convenience/drugstore downtown. The one that sold certain things at prices significantly lower than the grocery store, and the one that made it not so necessary for me to plan shopping around heat and humidity and multiple bus schedules.

It's gone now, and I found out why. The owner of the building wanted the store owner (a corporation) to agree to rent the upstairs portion of the building as well as the lower floor. The corporation said no, thanks, and moved out at the end of their lease in January.

Now? That store building is empty. No work is being done inside to prepare for a new tenant. It's one of several fairly large empty storefronts on Franklin Street, actually.

Although I don't know the ins-and-outs of commercial realty, I do wonder if the building owner should have opened eyes and seen that maybe, just maybe, it was better to have a happy tenant occupying one floor of a building (and worked a little harder to rent the upstairs to someone else) than to have an empty building seven months later, competing with other empty buildings for tenants.

Okay, that veered completely away from how I am. Let's add a little ranty to that tired, shall we?

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky