Becky Says...

July 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Thursday - July 5

I was saddened the other day to learn of Beverly Sills' death. During the last year she sang, I had the chance to hear her in concert in Raleigh. I'm sorry to say that I don't have particular memories of what she sang that night, and I don't think there were programs (I believe she announced each selection). But I do remember the concert as being lovely.

Wednesday night I watched Charlie Rose's commemoration of Ms. Sills. In an earlier show (which was largely replayed) he had asked her if she had a favorite moment in performing. She told of one night when she felt that a particularly difficult role had gone extraordinarily well. I know the feeling!

Beverly Sills did much for the music world. May she rest in peace.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I've enjoyed the slightly slower pace of this week. You might not think that someone working from home would be affected by (or even particularly notice) a change of pace, but I am and I do. I didn't do anything special for the holiday; I didn't even do the heavy-duty cleaning that I do some years. I napped and played around online.

And was grateful for the freedom to do both those things.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky