Becky Says...

June 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Happy Summer! - June 21

Around Lunchtime:
I woke up a little early this morning, and all I can think about is how much I'd like to go back to sleep. Which I would, except I'm waiting for a package and don't really want to make the delivery driver wake me. But once that package arrives, all bets as to my staying awake the rest of the afternoon are off.

And I've just sent the children playing on my end of the porch back to their parents, because there were eight of them shrieking and I couldn't hear anything going on in my apartment. I would feel like a real grinch except I don't. I'm pretty sure the parents didn't think that anyone was home down at this end of the building on weekdays.

Later on:
The delivery driver arrived shortly after that last paragraph got written. I didn't even open the package (work-related stuff). I came back to my bedroom and went to sleep. Mercifully, the children didn't come back to shriek more. Naps are a very good thing.

Once I was awake enough to make sense, I did check the package and it's just fine...which I had thought it would be.

On to something I was too sleepy to write about earlier:
Since what I've been watching is in summer reruns, I decided to check out the Rosie-less episodes of "The View." I was really surprised the other day to hear Star Parker, a very conservative person, sharing her opinions on damned near everything. Each one had a Bible-based point to go with it. It's been a long, long time since I've been exposed to an hour of such religious right-wing stuff. I had forgotten how much I hated it.

Part of what bothered me about this woman's appearance is that she just would not shut up. It was hard for anyone to get a word in, and if you've watched many episodes of that show you'll know that's unusual. The women at the table interrupt each other all the time (which I also hate, and is a secondary reason that I don't watch the show very often). But this woman managed to drag the thing back to her narrow vision of right and wrong at every turn. It was awesome. And not in a good way.

Last, not least:
It's been a good first day of summer. I hope the rest of the season goes well, too.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky