Becky Says...

June 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Secret - June 8

Not that one. The secret to getting the errands done in the heat of summer is to wear sturdy shoes and a sleeveless shirt, put on plenty of sunscreen, time it to be home before the heat of the day, and start drinking the ice water almost the minute you leave the store.

I did all of those things today, and am happy to report that I had a very pleasant trip. Even if one store was a little weird.

My usual trek through the errands is to go first to the drugstore, then to the grocery beside it. There are several things I regularly buy in the drugstore, since they're a little less expensive than they are at the grocery.

Today, though, the drugstore was out of stock on two of them, and seriously understaffed. So I left there empty-handed and went on to the grocery store.

I found what I wanted, then headed home. I knew I had several options for rides if it got too hot, but I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it. So I opened my ice water and started walking. I got here in good time, with no problems. And with a nearly-empty water container!

Of course, I was pleased to get back inside, but mainly pleased that I had figured out a better way to make the trip.

Text � copyright 2000-2007 Becky