Becky Says...

January 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Puzzling - January 15

The verbal battle going between Donald Trump and Rosie O'Donnell has me puzzled.

If you've possibly managed to miss the drama, a brief recap is that Mr. Trump, the pageant's sponsor, made a decision not to take the title and crown away from the current Miss USA, Tara Conner, after she was found to have been indulging in underage drinking. In a news conference about the decision, it was announced that Ms. Connor would be entering rehab to address her problems.

And for some reason, this led Ms. O'Donnell to make remarks negative to the situation.

Which led to response from Mr. Trump that, to put it mildly, wasn't kind.

And back and forth, getting uglier and drawing comment from others as the squabble goes on and on.

So for me the real question is why Ms. O'Donnell objected to someone giving a second chance. I don't really care if she dislikes Donald Trump. And I certainly know she has the same right to free speech that I'm using to post this. But I really, truly don't understand her objection.

And I'll remind you I've already said that Mr. Trump's response was not kind.

As the sparring approaches its one-month mark, I think it's time to call a cease fire. Both parties need to shut up, and both could stand to do some apologizing.

Meanwhile, I'm going to concentrate on sending good thoughts in Ms. Conner's direction.

This entry is also posted at Helium.

Text � copyright 2000-2007 Becky