Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Quiet - December 9

It's exam time at UNC, and all of Chapel Hill seems to be respecting the need for quiet time. The lack of unnecessary noise has been very pleasant.

And I've been thinking this is the sort of quiet time that Advent deserves. A quiet span in which to contemplate.

Advent. I used to think the church was a little weird for taking us through the church year every year. Didn't doing the same thing over and over again encourage living in the past, instead of moving on with our lives?

This year, I think I've finally come to terms with that.

Maybe instead of to live in the past, the encouragement is to start fresh. To discard the things that are not working for us, to say welcome to new things and ideas in our lives.

I'm just beginning to think on this. But that's fine. It is, after all, very early in the new year.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies