Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Colors - December 3

I have spent much of the last few hours crocheting. The piece I'm working on right now is for someone else, and it's going well. But I may wind up with severe eye strain before it's finished.

The yarn I'm using is almost exactly the same color as the afghan on my bed. That would be the afghan I'm covered with as I type, and the afghan I'm covered with as I crochet. Which means there's very little contrast. That's particularly apparent if I happen to put the piece down for a minute. I've learned to look for the crochet hook---it's a completely different color.

I've been reminded of those times when one plays around with the computer's color settings and winds up making text and background the same color. This isn't quite that bad. Think pale gray on white.

One time when I put the work down was to go hang the little ornament that's a cross-stitched Advent Wreath. This is the first Sunday in Advent, and it's fitting, in my mind, that the ornament be in its place as the day begins. It hangs alone for most of the month, on the wall behind my piano. Closer to Christmas Eve, it will be joined by other ornaments.

Wreath Ornament

I could sit here and write a whole lot about Advent, but I won't. Instead, I'm going to suggest you go read one of the most beautiful pieces I've read on it, here.

Text and photograph � copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies