Becky Says...

October 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Smilie- October 31

Pumpkin pin

This cheery jack-o'-lantern has been mine since a few days before Halloween in 1980, when it was given to me by a friend's aunt. I say thanks to Aunt Dorothy whenever I wear the pin. And yes, I did wind up calling her Aunt Dorothy, because she was pleased to have my friend's friends do so, and I don't have any idea what her last name was.

I haven't had any trick-or-treating visitors, which doesn't surprise me much. Around here, most of the people I know take their children to parties instead of going house-to-house in search of the best candy.

And I think that's a good thing. Some years, depending on whose children are what age, I play hostess for a pre-party candy visit. And that gives me a chance to do the ooh and aah thing over costumes, which is fun for me.

* * * * * * * * * * *

On another note, tomorrow is All Saints' Day. And my friend Francis-Maria wrote a homily which deals largely with that topic. I thought some of you might find it as thought-provoking and lovely as I do.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky